Home arrow Food Reviews arrow Kuala Lumpur arrow Foong Foong Ampang Yong Tau Foo
Foong Foong Ampang Yong Tau Foo
Print
(26 votes)

After a long time not having the famous Ampang yong tau foo, I decided to head there to benchmark my taste buds to what seems to be the yong tau foo capital of Malaysia. I head to what seems to be the most popular one, Foong Foong.

Yong Tau Foo
Yong Tau Fo

The place has an air of snob; when I sat down, someone came over and told me that I had to order at the counter, which I obediently obeyed. No choice of yong tau foo, only quantities. Sigh, what a choice. Once ordered, the person you ordered from at the desk will pick up their microphone and read your order over the PA system. When the kitchen is not sure, the kitchen will go on air and ‘announce’ back. It is interesting when there is an argument.

The strange thing is, although the quantity of yong tau foo is ordered at the counter, someone will go over to your table to take orders for drinks. I do not understand the dual system. The outdoor kitchen spots what seems to be an extended family at work, including young people.

In no time, my yong tau foo came. The tau foo (tofu) was very fresh, as though fresh out of the mold and it was very soft. The fillings of all the young tau foo was disappointing, rather plain and starchy. I was expecting meaty filling, especially for the premium they charge. The sauce, sigh, was diluted soya sauce. I then recall a number of places which has better young tau foo.

My benchmark of Ampang yong tau foo was reset to a lower level the moment I walked out; I now know places which have surpassed what was once the pride of Ampang.

Ratings:

Food: 6/10
Service: 4/10
Value: 7/10

Remarks: Not the best yong tau foo in KL. Popular probably because it is legendary “famous”.

The Shop
The Shop

Getting there: Head towards the Ampang Police Station, take a right at the light after that, pass Spectrum and to the end of the road, turn right and it is on the left. The place spots a whole row of yong tau foo shops, even before arriving at this shop.

GPS coordinates: N 03° 08.6666' E 101° 45.8019'

Originally published at tasek.net on the 17th of April, 2006. Re-published with permission.



Keywords: Yong Tau Hu, Yong Taufoo

Newer articles
Older articles
Comments
Add NewSearch
Yvonne - Yong Tau Fu Kaki   | 60.53.128.xxx | 2009-01-03 14:42:01
I love yong tau foo very much,,
mama - Best Yong Tau Foo At Sg Buloh   | 202.162.18.xxx | 2009-10-28 16:58:04
U should try one yong tau foo stall at hospital sg buloh cafetaria. The sauce was marvellous. The business hour is daily from 1pm - 9pm only.
Sunrider - Yong Tau Foo   | 115.132.39.xxx | 2010-10-09 15:59:29
The shop next door to the one you visited is far better in my opinion. Personal touch, variety of choice for the sauce, choose what you want and any number, supplementary dishes quite tasty and variety.
devonssbroad - cash advance costa mesa     | 58.97.141.xxx | 2014-07-19 14:33:06
all people created variety of our
Coach Outlet Store     | 23.228.108.xxx | 2014-07-21 18:26:23
http://www.coachoutletstoreinuk.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.coachfactoryoutletanus.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.coachoutletonlineunsius.com/ Coach Outlet
http://www.coachoutletonlinetur.com/ Coach Online Outlet
http://www.coachfactoryoutletnbsa.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.coachfactoryoutletuisa.com/ Coach Outlet Store
http://www.coachoutletstorenie.com/ Coach Outlet Store
http://www.coachfactorystoreuin.com/ Coach Outlet Online
http://www.coachfactoryoutletreba.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonlinesius.com/ Coach Factory Online
http://www.coachoutletonlinetnse.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.coachoutletnoia.com/ Coach Outlet Store Online
http://www.chaneloutletinus.com/ Chanel Handbags
http://www.louisvuittonoutletina.com/ Louis Vuitton Outlet Online
http://www.louisvuittonoutletine.com/ Louis Vuitton Outlet
payday loans - payday loans     | 103.23.60.xxx | 2014-07-26 10:06:27
Fast loan no credit check could also be to a small degree loan that's procurable with none bother. It proves to be very useful for somebody in would love of money.
auto title loans for you mobil - auto title loans for you mobil     | 103.23.60.xxx | 2014-07-27 23:28:37
the majority people created our
auto cash title loans costa me     | 103.23.60.xxx | 2014-07-28 13:58:50
Your current monthly installments is usually noticed in relevancy eight thus you will be able to twelve bi-weekly repayments, or perhaps still, if the house mortgage will depend on your own Sociable Stability financial gain, thus we're able to simply schedule your payments to possess gotten through 3 to four regular monthly costs. Persistently qualified repayments guide to make a reduced investigate entire that is the higher go with your financial state of affairs.
see more..http://usacheckcashingstore.com/costa-mesa
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
Security Image
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
 
< Prev   Next >
One Stop Malaysia - Everything About Malaysia



Advertisement
 

CB Online

No Users Online
© 2007-2008 One Stop Malaysia
Disclaimer: Although every effort has been done to make the content as accurate as possible, One Stop Malaysia shall not be liable for any inaccuracy in the information provided here.
Unless specified otherwise, we are not affiliated with any of the websites or companies listed here
OneStopMalaysia.com Privacy Policy
Powered By PageCache
Generated in 0.18411 Seconds