Home arrow Food Reviews arrow Kuala Lumpur arrow Foong Foong Ampang Yong Tau Foo
Foong Foong Ampang Yong Tau Foo
Print
(25 votes)

After a long time not having the famous Ampang yong tau foo, I decided to head there to benchmark my taste buds to what seems to be the yong tau foo capital of Malaysia. I head to what seems to be the most popular one, Foong Foong.

Yong Tau Foo
Yong Tau Fo

The place has an air of snob; when I sat down, someone came over and told me that I had to order at the counter, which I obediently obeyed. No choice of yong tau foo, only quantities. Sigh, what a choice. Once ordered, the person you ordered from at the desk will pick up their microphone and read your order over the PA system. When the kitchen is not sure, the kitchen will go on air and ‘announce’ back. It is interesting when there is an argument.

The strange thing is, although the quantity of yong tau foo is ordered at the counter, someone will go over to your table to take orders for drinks. I do not understand the dual system. The outdoor kitchen spots what seems to be an extended family at work, including young people.

In no time, my yong tau foo came. The tau foo (tofu) was very fresh, as though fresh out of the mold and it was very soft. The fillings of all the young tau foo was disappointing, rather plain and starchy. I was expecting meaty filling, especially for the premium they charge. The sauce, sigh, was diluted soya sauce. I then recall a number of places which has better young tau foo.

My benchmark of Ampang yong tau foo was reset to a lower level the moment I walked out; I now know places which have surpassed what was once the pride of Ampang.

Ratings:

Food: 6/10
Service: 4/10
Value: 7/10

Remarks: Not the best yong tau foo in KL. Popular probably because it is legendary “famous”.

The Shop
The Shop

Getting there: Head towards the Ampang Police Station, take a right at the light after that, pass Spectrum and to the end of the road, turn right and it is on the left. The place spots a whole row of yong tau foo shops, even before arriving at this shop.

GPS coordinates: N 03° 08.6666' E 101° 45.8019'

Originally published at tasek.net on the 17th of April, 2006. Re-published with permission.



Keywords: Yong Tau Hu, Yong Taufoo

Newer articles
Older articles
Comments
Add NewSearch
Yvonne - Yong Tau Fu Kaki   | 60.53.128.xxx | 2009-01-03 14:42:01
I love yong tau foo very much,,
mama - Best Yong Tau Foo At Sg Buloh   | 202.162.18.xxx | 2009-10-28 16:58:04
U should try one yong tau foo stall at hospital sg buloh cafetaria. The sauce was marvellous. The business hour is daily from 1pm - 9pm only.
Sunrider - Yong Tau Foo   | 115.132.39.xxx | 2010-10-09 15:59:29
The shop next door to the one you visited is far better in my opinion. Personal touch, variety of choice for the sauce, choose what you want and any number, supplementary dishes quite tasty and variety.
aaa   | 27.153.128.xxx | 2013-05-24 17:00:58
LLL-I appreciate for your kind and generous sharing.Shop online at christian louboutin mall for a great selection of christian louboutin boots, christian wedding shoes,christian louboutin ankle boots and sandals for girls,women and men with free shopping on all orders.Welcome to luxury christian louboutin sale online store.The best christian louboutin at best price, free delivery,easy returns & exchanges,100% quality guarantee!Save 82% Off.Cheap christian louboutin daffodile makes a woman's feet dazzle and shine even after the twelve strikes of midnight.Own a pair of stylish and wonderful christian louboutin is women's lifetime pursuit. We offer christian louboutin shoes online shopping by an elegant but easy way. Shopping online at discount price for red sole signature designer.
christian louboutin sale is french hot brand in the world,We provide different kinds of christian louboutin.Choose the woman wearing louboutin slingback,often has realised that many men somehow to high-heeled shoes have deep interest,wear cheap christian louboutin sales shoes can easily outright conquest many men,can easily get many men worship,can easily make many men excited.In fashionable arena occupies a place of christian louboutin ankle boot forever and always makes women fascination.christian louboutin outlet
foot that one wipe enthusiastic red,no matter how plain clothes,they were unable to hide the hostess as fire the lively personality.christian louboutin shoes is fashionable and beautiful, recently new appearance of new women's sandals,presenting an one colour profusion,design and material collocation also ingenuity, pretty,both restoring ancient ways,full of female lasting appeal,sweet call a person fondle admiringly
NIKE name, in the eyes of Westerners was very lucky, easy to read and easy to remember,it is known.nike shoes trademark symbol of the Greek goddess of victory wings of feathers,representing the speed, but also represents a dynamic and gentle.nike australia's trademark,the pattern is a small hook shape concise,rapid as lightning,and a look reminiscent of the speed and explosiveness of nike shoes australia.For the first time named "Nike" athletic shoes, soles square convex tablets to enhance the stability, the body of the shoe on both sides of the knife-shaped curved hook,a symbol of the wings of the goddess.God's wings.nike shoes online store for Australian consumers,sell cheap nike shoes.Our aim is to let people around the world dressed in Nike.
Nike as a historic brand is popular in all over the world,nike australia occupies a very important position. No matter what age the person will have a pair of nike shoes. This shows that people love the Nike.nike shoes australia's success depends largely on accurate market positioning and excellent quality. A lot of people are eager to buy cheap nike shoes, stores often only discount after last season's, how to buy a pair of cheap Nike? Now you can come to nike shoes online store. You can buy an ultra-low price of one pair of the latest nike free,Or the girls favorite nike heels!
The spring came again, if you have love to choose a pair of christian louboutin shoes right now? christian louboutin pumps daffodile match herve leger bandage will make you a shine at the moment.Don't do the most brilliant and also don't do the lowest. christian louboutin sandals with its own language, confided women the curve of the gentle, sending out the mature female charm. herve leger replica a fair maiden temperament, both costly and qing li, both charm and cute. Thank you for giving the awesome suggestions for us to order. summer comes, want to follow the trend of the front line, still please read the article. christian louboutin sale and clothes, the fire and herve leger dress is popular all over the world. Women like the bandage as the sexy details, they use replica herve leger bundle out of sexy figure concave and convex have send.
fitflops - http://www.fitflopdesign.com/   | 58.22.70.xxx | 2014-02-18 12:12:02
I do love my [url=http://www.michaelkorsoutlet-store.com/]michael kors outlet[/url] bag but if I had a bigger budget I would definitely buy a bag more like the [url=http://www.michael-kors-outlet-store.com/]michael kors outlet store[/url].This latest fashion film sees creative director Matthew Williams work next to director [url=http://www.coachhandbagsnew2014.com/]coach handbags outlet[/url], with "FUCCBOI" being "a study of behaviour, style and movement that focuses on the interplay between dramatic performance and trashing."But with so [url=http://www.coach-factory-outlet-online.com/]coach factory outlet online[/url] out there, it's hard to keep track of what app is meant for what,but will you be voting for sophistication, simple chic, girly grunge or clashing prints?.Peter Pilotto for [url=http://www.coachfactoryoutlet-2014.com/]coach factory outlet[/url] Feb 9! But before you shop, check out how [url=http://www.fitflopflip-flop.com/]fitflop shoes[/url], Taylor Schilling, and a few other gals worked the collection at the [url=http://www.fitflopdesign.com/]fitflops[/url] Fashion Week celebration.
[url=http://www.coachoutletstoreonline2014.com/]coach outlet store online[/url] is pregnant and totally freaking nekkid.We both have these shoes and are obsessed with them.Sometimes we get [url=http://www.pradaoutlet-store.com/]prada outlet[/url] in the hustle that we forget to step back and enjoy [url=http://www.coachfactoryoutlet-purse.com/]coach outlet[/url]. He drove that point into the ground on Sunday when he left a [url=http://www.coachfactoryoutlet-2014.com/]www.coachfactory.com/store[/url] after answering just one question. Don't get us wrong - we are devoted urbanites through and through, but the shows, events, and general craziness of [url=http://www.ukfitflops.com/]fitflop uk[/url] can leave us feeling a little worn out. which got me thinking about which bag to carry (shocking, I know).The [url=http://www.coachfactoryoutlethandbags.com/]coach handbags outlet[/url] has mixed together Picasso's cubism, along with some surrealism and pop art to re-imagine [url=http://www.fitflopsflipflops.com/]fitflops[/url] and coach as high art prints. It's also about how the headphones fit well not only on your ears but your body as well. The efficiency of the headphones will depend on how you're going to use it.
The new premium sneaker from fitflop has reworked the classic running shoe and styled it with contrast studs and multi-colored panels.Meg Lukens Noonan finds out on a sartorial journey in search of tailors, craftsmen, artisans and a fitflop .The survey panels are categorized so you may pick what is of interest to you and there are tools that can help you keep track of what survey you have taken and your earnings.
tom     | 185.39.161.xxx | 2014-04-12 05:25:12
Hi there. very nice article. An excellent read. I'll certainly be back
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
Security Image
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
 
< Prev   Next >
One Stop Malaysia - Everything About Malaysia


Advertisement
 

CB Online

No Users Online
© 2007-2008 One Stop Malaysia
Disclaimer: Although every effort has been done to make the content as accurate as possible, One Stop Malaysia shall not be liable for any inaccuracy in the information provided here.
Unless specified otherwise, we are not affiliated with any of the websites or companies listed here
OneStopMalaysia.com Privacy Policy
Powered By PageCache
Generated in 0.51332 Seconds