Home arrow Food Reviews arrow Johor arrow Kluang Station Coffee
Kluang Station Coffee
Print
(42 votes)
Last Updated ( Thursday, 21 February 2013 )

Google+

I'm sure many of you have at least seen the Kluang Station outlet, currently available in places like 1 Utama (New Wing) and Ikano Power Centre. Ever wondered the origins of this outlet? Do you know where Kluang is? Read on to find out more!

Toast and Coffee
Toast and Coffee

Background

Both of my parents born and grew up in Kluang. My late paternal grandfather was the headmaster of a boys school. During my younger days, I would go to Kluang during the school holidays to visit my paternal grandmother as well as my cousins, who are about the same age as me. Our relatives would often take us to the Kluang Station, usually to have our breakfast although they are open other times of the day. Nowadays, I will usually go back to Kluang during Chinese New Year and to celebrate my grandmother's birthday.

About Kluang

Kluang is located right in the centre of Johor. Kluang is from the Malay word "keluang", meaning flying fox. Kluang was founded in 1915 to serve as the administrative capital of central Johor. The main railway line passed through Kluang, and that helped with the development. The line separates the town with other parts of Kluang. In the old days, there used to be only one way to town. Whenever a train is approaching, the crossing is closed and all the vehicles had to wait for the train to pass. The gate used to be manually operated, but now it is done mechanically. During the 80's and early 90's, Kluang is pretty much a quiet town. I remember walking to and from town, with barely any traffic. Since the mid 90's, Kluang has gone through a lot of development. However, one thing didn't change, and that was the Kluang Station Coffee.

Kluang Station Coffee

The Kluang Station coffee is the canteen of the railway station. This station is actually a major stop, meaning all trains, including express trains, stop at this station. It now goes by the name of "Kluang Station RailCoffee". According to the Kluang Station franchise website, it started operating in 1938. It is now operated by the 3rd generation of the Lim family.

Unlike the franchise which serves dishes like Chicken Chop, Laksa, Porride, Nasi Ayam Merah and other, there isn't actually much to eat here. The dishes that you can get here are charcoal-grilled toast (bread or bun), half-boiled eggs, packed nasi lemak and mee siam, curry-puff, and of course, the coffee.

They are known for its toast, where they grill in on charcoal. It doesn't taste the same as those oven-toasted toast. I remember at one time, they used oven to toast their bread. It didn't taste the same, and they went back to charcoal. They used real butter (unlike some places which uses marjerin). The kaya is made with the finest ingredients. Just look at the picture below and I'm sure you'll start drooling.

Toast with Butter and Kaya
Toast with Butter and Kaya

Toast Bun
Toast Bun

Grilled on Charcoal
Grilled on Charcoal

The coffee is 100% local and roasted with butter. The nasi lemak is also legendary. In the old days, you have to go really early to get a pack of their nasi lemak. They would deliver in cycles. Whenever the new stock arrive, everybody would go and grab as many as they can. I'm not sure if the nasi lemak today is the same as the one last time, but it definitely still taste good. The sambal is still pedas as ever. However, it comes pretty plain, with only the nasi and sambal. It does not have timun or egg to go with it.

Nasi Lemak
Nasi Lemak

The setting is still pretty much the same with the old tables and fan. If you happen to drop by Kluang, you must drop by the station to have a meal. If you're taking the train and it stops in Kluang, you might have enough time to pack some coffee, although I would like to warn you that the train stops for a minute only.

Kluang Station Canteen
Kluang Station Canteen

Location: At the end of Jalan Station, Kluang

GPS Coordinates: N 2° 01.994' E 103° 19.061'

Map (Zoom in to view exact location)

 

 

 

Operating hours: 6.30am-12.30pm, and 2.30pm-6.30pm daily except Tuesdays.

References:

Kluang on WikiTravel

Kluang Station franchise

Railway Station Signboard
Railway Station Signboard

Kluang Station
Kluang Station

Share



 

Comments
Add NewSearch
Jeff     | 24.187.98.xxx | 2008-09-27 05:54:35
mmmm that toasted bread/butter looks delicious. I would like to eat it up
joy - very nice...     | 118.100.236.xxx | 2010-01-11 15:58:33
this shop has existed since i was very small....the coffee is very nice n aromatic..
go n try! u'll not regret..
J   | 203.117.130.xxx | 2010-05-20 16:45:07
Are the operating hours still the same now?
Auleo     | 117.20.157.xxx | 2010-12-20 20:54:24
Too bad to read this post when I'm so hungry.

Great sharing anyway!
muslim - HARAM!!!   | 118.100.108.xxx | 2011-03-24 08:55:34
kpd umat islam jangan minum KOPI DI RAILWAY COFEE KLUANG exspecially org2 kluang kerana disahkan kandungannya mengandungi GELATIN BABI. HARAP MAKLUM!! (sumber - Pjbt Agama Kluang)
agas jb - Sambungan Harammmmmmm   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-03-25 17:50:35
Dlu mmg aku slalu g mkn kt c2...

tpi......skrg dh xleh mkn coz dh tau knape??????Harammmmmm

Jdinye......jgn mkn benda yg HARAM.....

Ok.......
Alessandro   | 79.1.126.xxx | 2011-04-20 14:26:19
the place is very nice and the coffe is very good,I been there many times
Max - Question....Any contact number   | 220.255.2.xxx | 2011-05-14 21:45:07
Some website mentioned it is closed on Thursday.

Can any kindsoul pls advise?
lcw - Mr   | 175.137.64.xxx | 2013-03-27 01:48:37
Was there yesterday. It is confirmed closed on every Thursday not Tuesday.
hanan bajrai - halal malaysia   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-05-20 10:53:19
terima kasih atas semua maklumat yang diberikan terima kasih kerna memberi semua maklumat yang penting....^_^
ain nadhirah - halal jakim   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-05-20 10:56:16
thanks atas semua maklumat yang diberikan so...jgn makan makanan yang haram tau.............p;
JADIKANLAH HATI KITA BERSIH....
freelancer - Nice     | 180.178.179.xxx | 2011-06-07 17:27:45
Amazing looking so delicious!
Closet Doors - Nice     | 223.207.182.xxx | 2011-06-27 11:00:35
I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I'm looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks.
Kamagra - Great Info.     | 49.248.82.xxx | 2012-01-10 18:11:43
It makes me feel so surprise.I never know there is such a wonderful place that I can find what I need,
joomla components     | 115.119.115.xxx | 2012-02-24 19:13:57
nice coffee. I liked it.
mazapoint - mazapoint     | 119.152.7.xxx | 2012-07-20 20:04:24
The sambal is immobile pedas as increasingly. on the other hand, it come beautiful simple, with merely the nasi and sambal. It do not encompass timun or egg to go by means of it
checorashid   | 115.134.111.xxx | 2012-10-03 17:06:37
salam org-org muslim , railway coffe , roti , kaya dia buat sendiri tk halal. orang cina punya receipe. jakim hanya buat lawatan pd hr memeohon sijil halal lepas tu pegawai jakim tidur kt pejabat. esoknya taukeh buat lg mcm dulu. sebenarnya orang islam tidak bole makan dikedai bukan islam. HARAP BERI PERHATIAN.
ramli - kena tegur   | 175.145.127.xxx | 2012-10-23 11:51:48
saya peminat setia kopi n roti bakar,malang sekali pelayan depan suka lambat2 hantar roti myebabkan roti sejuk,kalu sejuk makan x sedap malah x rangup,kadang2 saya tengok pelayan perempuan depan asyik dgn sms tanpa memikirkan tanggungjawab kepada kerja n pelanggan..harap ambil tindakan untuk tingkatkan service kedai anda
andrew - Yes..     | 189.220.165.xxx | 2013-08-28 11:48:20
Yes I know the food looks simple and boring. But you would be surprised to know how it actually tastes. If you get here, it's a must try.
hassamkhatri - step by step     | 59.103.213.xxx | 2014-10-24 18:14:48
I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I'm looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks. step by step
hassam - beauty food bible tracy patter     | 119.157.244.xxx | 2014-10-29 02:09:35
salam org-org muslim , railway coffe , roti , kaya dia buat sendiri tk halal. orang cina punya receipe. jakim hanya buat lawatan pd hr memeohon sijil halal lepas tu pegawai jakim tidur kt pejabat. esoknya taukeh buat lg mcm dulu. sebenarnya orang islam tidak bole makan dikedai bukan islam. HARAP BERI PERHATIAN. beauty food bible tracy patterson ebook
bdlawyer.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:21:07
When talking about society legal requirements control society and even helps secure human's perfect and believes that. In lots of cases laws helps solve problem and belief. When you can find law people today must in all probability obey because of it and helps citizen be a little more in regulate. Law enable place the ideal justices ended up being and whether it is needed inside of a community.
healthfreedomlaw.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:21:45
Foreign law has brought centuries so that you can evolve nonetheless could without difficulty fall sorry victim to electricity if reason would not evolve it has the journey together with the changed scenarios. It is critical for internationalists to comprehend the implications of "change" announced by surfacing subjects with international legal requirements. Responses that are fitted with familiarity by using reality would probably avoid misconstruing a purposes with international legal requirements.
noworriesluxuryauto.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:22:04
Being aware of the many kinds of insurance just might help you find the insurance exposure you require at a cost you have enough money for thereby allowing you to legally drive while in the state you actually currently are in. Although making use of the outlay and also price for your personal next insurance document are sometimes a good get started whist comparing insurance exposure providers it will be shouldn't a common factor familiar with determine recognise the business to obtain your auto insurance from whenever you actually decide to have a purchase.
auto-forex.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:22:24
Automatic finance and also auto financing is a phrase made use of when individuals wants to obtain a motor vehicle but cannot attributes needed complete required degree of the motor vehicle upfront. Inside an auto funding process, the person purchasing the automobile would probably first make an application for auto money.
autorentool.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:22:46
Simply what amount can this sort of software program that is auto huge selection maker ask for? The more complicated accurate question for yourself is simply what amount do most people desire the asking price of many remaining? Nicely, when consumer, you want to test the application also it is good to try outside auto huge selection maker If perhaps it actually brings capital, you have got to can easily make money using it and after that we're prepared to spend excellent price for this too.
switchome.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:23:03
A person's economy is due to complete control by employing few primary steps. You're more relaxed in basically healthier ecosystem. 'House around order' offers good secure feeling. When you actually build the home you might build them more vigor efficiently. Demonstrate homes will be always eye-catching and appealing.
constructioncareeraustin.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:28:42
So that you can make every decision with regards to your career it's important to assess you first. Because inherent skill, skills plus values will be most helpful things make employment choices. You apply self examination tools to paraphrase we might say work test for your self diagnosis test. A employment test helps you making decisions for your personal career. You'll find it creates the proper list with occupation plus gathers perfect information for your personal career.
constructioncareeraustin.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:29:12
So that you can make every decision with regards to your career it's important to assess you first. Because inherent skill, skills plus values will be most helpful things make employment choices. You apply self examination tools to paraphrase we might say work test for your self diagnosis test. A employment test helps you making decisions for your personal career. You'll find it creates the proper list with occupation plus gathers perfect information for your personal career.
usa-technology.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:29:32
Either career information and employment development are needed components actually need to run personal employment exploration. Understanding all these foundational stipulations will enable you to get what you require, and along at the right time frame.
cheapssoftware.net     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:30:00
Employment change eventually often by way of events 100 % beyond all of our control. Your online business and industry may perhaps be dying plus budget slices restrict your capability do your job and you will be now expected to do extra with a reduced amount of. Or a person's boss is definitely beyond arduous,
mumsnewbusiness     | 182.186.151.xxx | 2014-10-29 20:30:26
Business as the term is certainly vast together with career are usually sketched due to any sort of business in taken. Analysing the decision of you and developing it to supply the ideal product defines the IT solutions can operate while in the organization and increase the success within the business when they get home of from.
hassamkhatri - http://www.textyourexbackforum     | 59.103.216.xxx | 2014-10-29 21:25:27
Employment change eventually often by way of events 100 % beyond all of our control. Your online business and industry may perhaps be dying plus budget slices restrict your capability do your job and you will be now expected to do extra with a reduced amount of. Or a person's boss is definitely beyond arduous, text your ex back 2 michael fiore ebook
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
Security Image
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
 
One Stop Malaysia - Everything About Malaysia


Advertisement
 

CB Online

No Users Online
© 2007-2008 One Stop Malaysia
Disclaimer: Although every effort has been done to make the content as accurate as possible, One Stop Malaysia shall not be liable for any inaccuracy in the information provided here.
Unless specified otherwise, we are not affiliated with any of the websites or companies listed here
OneStopMalaysia.com Privacy Policy
Powered By PageCache
Generated in 0.15715 Seconds