Home arrow Food Reviews arrow Johor arrow Kluang Station Coffee
Kluang Station Coffee
Print
(41 votes)
Last Updated ( Thursday, 21 February 2013 )

Google+

I'm sure many of you have at least seen the Kluang Station outlet, currently available in places like 1 Utama (New Wing) and Ikano Power Centre. Ever wondered the origins of this outlet? Do you know where Kluang is? Read on to find out more!

Toast and Coffee
Toast and Coffee

Background

Both of my parents born and grew up in Kluang. My late paternal grandfather was the headmaster of a boys school. During my younger days, I would go to Kluang during the school holidays to visit my paternal grandmother as well as my cousins, who are about the same age as me. Our relatives would often take us to the Kluang Station, usually to have our breakfast although they are open other times of the day. Nowadays, I will usually go back to Kluang during Chinese New Year and to celebrate my grandmother's birthday.

About Kluang

Kluang is located right in the centre of Johor. Kluang is from the Malay word "keluang", meaning flying fox. Kluang was founded in 1915 to serve as the administrative capital of central Johor. The main railway line passed through Kluang, and that helped with the development. The line separates the town with other parts of Kluang. In the old days, there used to be only one way to town. Whenever a train is approaching, the crossing is closed and all the vehicles had to wait for the train to pass. The gate used to be manually operated, but now it is done mechanically. During the 80's and early 90's, Kluang is pretty much a quiet town. I remember walking to and from town, with barely any traffic. Since the mid 90's, Kluang has gone through a lot of development. However, one thing didn't change, and that was the Kluang Station Coffee.

Kluang Station Coffee

The Kluang Station coffee is the canteen of the railway station. This station is actually a major stop, meaning all trains, including express trains, stop at this station. It now goes by the name of "Kluang Station RailCoffee". According to the Kluang Station franchise website, it started operating in 1938. It is now operated by the 3rd generation of the Lim family.

Unlike the franchise which serves dishes like Chicken Chop, Laksa, Porride, Nasi Ayam Merah and other, there isn't actually much to eat here. The dishes that you can get here are charcoal-grilled toast (bread or bun), half-boiled eggs, packed nasi lemak and mee siam, curry-puff, and of course, the coffee.

They are known for its toast, where they grill in on charcoal. It doesn't taste the same as those oven-toasted toast. I remember at one time, they used oven to toast their bread. It didn't taste the same, and they went back to charcoal. They used real butter (unlike some places which uses marjerin). The kaya is made with the finest ingredients. Just look at the picture below and I'm sure you'll start drooling.

Toast with Butter and Kaya
Toast with Butter and Kaya

Toast Bun
Toast Bun

Grilled on Charcoal
Grilled on Charcoal

The coffee is 100% local and roasted with butter. The nasi lemak is also legendary. In the old days, you have to go really early to get a pack of their nasi lemak. They would deliver in cycles. Whenever the new stock arrive, everybody would go and grab as many as they can. I'm not sure if the nasi lemak today is the same as the one last time, but it definitely still taste good. The sambal is still pedas as ever. However, it comes pretty plain, with only the nasi and sambal. It does not have timun or egg to go with it.

Nasi Lemak
Nasi Lemak

The setting is still pretty much the same with the old tables and fan. If you happen to drop by Kluang, you must drop by the station to have a meal. If you're taking the train and it stops in Kluang, you might have enough time to pack some coffee, although I would like to warn you that the train stops for a minute only.

Kluang Station Canteen
Kluang Station Canteen

Location: At the end of Jalan Station, Kluang

GPS Coordinates: N 2° 01.994' E 103° 19.061'

Map (Zoom in to view exact location)

 

 

 

Operating hours: 6.30am-12.30pm, and 2.30pm-6.30pm daily except Tuesdays.

References:

Kluang on WikiTravel

Kluang Station franchise

Railway Station Signboard
Railway Station Signboard

Kluang Station
Kluang Station

Share



 

Comments
Add NewSearch
Jeff     | 24.187.98.xxx | 2008-09-27 05:54:35
mmmm that toasted bread/butter looks delicious. I would like to eat it up
joy - very nice...     | 118.100.236.xxx | 2010-01-11 15:58:33
this shop has existed since i was very small....the coffee is very nice n aromatic..
go n try! u'll not regret..
J   | 203.117.130.xxx | 2010-05-20 16:45:07
Are the operating hours still the same now?
Auleo     | 117.20.157.xxx | 2010-12-20 20:54:24
Too bad to read this post when I'm so hungry.

Great sharing anyway!
muslim - HARAM!!!   | 118.100.108.xxx | 2011-03-24 08:55:34
kpd umat islam jangan minum KOPI DI RAILWAY COFEE KLUANG exspecially org2 kluang kerana disahkan kandungannya mengandungi GELATIN BABI. HARAP MAKLUM!! (sumber - Pjbt Agama Kluang)
chin ri hang - kluang station kopitiam   | 183.171.168.xxx | 2014-07-30 16:14:36
Bagus tak mau minum kopi dan makan nasi lemak
agas jb - Sambungan Harammmmmmm   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-03-25 17:50:35
Dlu mmg aku slalu g mkn kt c2...

tpi......skrg dh xleh mkn coz dh tau knape??????Harammmmmm

Jdinye......jgn mkn benda yg HARAM.....

Ok.......
Alessandro   | 79.1.126.xxx | 2011-04-20 14:26:19
the place is very nice and the coffe is very good,I been there many times
Max - Question....Any contact number   | 220.255.2.xxx | 2011-05-14 21:45:07
Some website mentioned it is closed on Thursday.

Can any kindsoul pls advise?
lcw - Mr   | 175.137.64.xxx | 2013-03-27 01:48:37
Was there yesterday. It is confirmed closed on every Thursday not Tuesday.
hanan bajrai - halal malaysia   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-05-20 10:53:19
terima kasih atas semua maklumat yang diberikan terima kasih kerna memberi semua maklumat yang penting....^_^
ain nadhirah - halal jakim   | 58.26.127.xxx | 2011-05-20 10:56:16
thanks atas semua maklumat yang diberikan so...jgn makan makanan yang haram tau.............p;
JADIKANLAH HATI KITA BERSIH....
freelancer - Nice     | 180.178.179.xxx | 2011-06-07 17:27:45
Amazing looking so delicious!
Closet Doors - Nice     | 223.207.182.xxx | 2011-06-27 11:00:35
I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I'm looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks.
Kamagra - Great Info.     | 49.248.82.xxx | 2012-01-10 18:11:43
It makes me feel so surprise.I never know there is such a wonderful place that I can find what I need,
joomla components     | 115.119.115.xxx | 2012-02-24 19:13:57
nice coffee. I liked it.
mazapoint - mazapoint     | 119.152.7.xxx | 2012-07-20 20:04:24
The sambal is immobile pedas as increasingly. on the other hand, it come beautiful simple, with merely the nasi and sambal. It do not encompass timun or egg to go by means of it
checorashid   | 115.134.111.xxx | 2012-10-03 17:06:37
salam org-org muslim , railway coffe , roti , kaya dia buat sendiri tk halal. orang cina punya receipe. jakim hanya buat lawatan pd hr memeohon sijil halal lepas tu pegawai jakim tidur kt pejabat. esoknya taukeh buat lg mcm dulu. sebenarnya orang islam tidak bole makan dikedai bukan islam. HARAP BERI PERHATIAN.
ramli - kena tegur   | 175.145.127.xxx | 2012-10-23 11:51:48
saya peminat setia kopi n roti bakar,malang sekali pelayan depan suka lambat2 hantar roti myebabkan roti sejuk,kalu sejuk makan x sedap malah x rangup,kadang2 saya tengok pelayan perempuan depan asyik dgn sms tanpa memikirkan tanggungjawab kepada kerja n pelanggan..harap ambil tindakan untuk tingkatkan service kedai anda
andrew - Yes..     | 189.220.165.xxx | 2013-08-28 11:48:20
Yes I know the food looks simple and boring. But you would be surprised to know how it actually tastes. If you get here, it's a must try.
surveys paid review - surveys paid review     | 182.182.83.xxx | 2014-07-09 17:43:28
Awesome and interesting article. Great things you
michael fiore's text your ex - michael fiore's text your ex     | 182.182.81.xxx | 2014-07-10 23:36:25
I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again.
h miracle book - h miracle book     | 182.182.53.xxx | 2014-07-12 21:25:08
I am happy to find this post very useful for me, as it contains lot of information.
amy waterman save my marriage     | 115.186.103.xxx | 2014-07-13 05:07:29
Very bright post this is. One of the most helpful articles that I've ever read is this amazing article. Thanks a million for providing this. I'll surely be back for more.
transparent bra - transparent bra     | 162.210.196.xxx | 2014-07-14 15:01:57
Nice to share my love is wonderful to tell you that a healthy green gives you the best Organic vitamins, herbal remedies and organic supplements. They use all natural ingredients to create organic products.
girlfriend activation system r - girlfriend activation system r     | 182.182.7.xxx | 2014-07-14 19:24:04
Great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I
text your ex back review - text your ex back review     | 182.182.26.xxx | 2014-07-19 08:38:11
Stansberry & Associates Investment Research, LLC is not BBB Accredited. Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.
devonssbroad - cash advance costa mesa     | 58.97.141.xxx | 2014-07-19 14:30:13
The establishment account is generally typically some sort of confirming or perhaps a checking account. just merely are going to be purchased in to our store in conjunction together with your proof of cash flow, your hottest regular bank assertion and you simply current examine photograph ID or perhaps passport. the particular advance and in addition Size Loan from the bank could be a wondrous product and services that will will allow varied men and women daily. Anytime emergencies occur, glimpse notice all people.
partytent huren vlaardingen - partytent huren vlaardingen     | 162.210.196.xxx | 2014-07-19 20:23:46
I acknowledge the same best work from you at some point or an alternate later.
desire system by dr. david sys - desire system by dr. david sys     | 182.182.55.xxx | 2014-07-23 22:04:21
Great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I
multitourist - multitourist     | 182.186.198.xxx | 2014-07-26 18:41:30
To fully enjoy the place, it's not enough that you stay in one particular island. An estimate of 1 out of 3 tourists enjoys having multi-island tours especially when they're planning on staying in Hawaii for at least 1 or 2 weeks spending 3-4 days in each island. What makes this trip less tiring is that travelling from one island to another will only take at least 30-minutes in an inter-island flight and the best way to tour each island is by renting a car because unfortunately there is no public transportation here except in Honolulu.
medicarehealthassess     | 182.186.198.xxx | 2014-07-26 18:42:05
It is therefore important to choose a reputable insurance company for your Medicare policy. This helps you learn more about the Medicare program; at the same time, it helps you come to a good decision when you are selecting a plan. Trustworthy companies assist their clients in understanding the provisions and conditions of every plan.
partytent - partytent     | 182.185.187.xxx | 2014-07-26 19:20:11
I have found very useful information over there, thanks for sharing this.
partytent - partytent     | 182.185.187.xxx | 2014-07-26 19:21:11
Another great post, I appreciate all the work you put into this site, helping out others with your fun and creative works.
partytent - partytent     | 182.185.187.xxx | 2014-07-26 19:21:44
Pretty cool post. It
daily bread devotional - Joel osteen     | 68.193.92.xxx | 2014-07-28 11:54:23
I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I'm looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks.
http://www.everydaydevotional.com/2014/05/joel-osteen-ministries-word-for-today.html
daily bread devotional - daily bread     | 68.193.92.xxx | 2014-07-28 11:56:27
I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I'm looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks.

JoelOsteen
this website - cool     | 198.23.169.xxx | 2014-07-30 21:23:00
Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to know so much about this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with some % to drive the message home a little bit, however other than that, that is great blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back. this website
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
Security Image
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
 
One Stop Malaysia - Everything About Malaysia



Advertisement
 

CB Online

No Users Online
© 2007-2008 One Stop Malaysia
Disclaimer: Although every effort has been done to make the content as accurate as possible, One Stop Malaysia shall not be liable for any inaccuracy in the information provided here.
Unless specified otherwise, we are not affiliated with any of the websites or companies listed here
OneStopMalaysia.com Privacy Policy
Powered By PageCache
Generated in 0.26480 Seconds